Gays Do It Better

How many people out there do you know have gay parents?  Sometimes it can be hard to pinpoint those who do have gay parents, and when you find those lucky individuals you might be pleasantly surprised.  For example, when I told my friends that my dad was gay and that I was living with my him and his partner, they didn’t think anything of it and didn’t see anything wrong with me.  However, I was one of the lucky ones because there have been instances where children are bullied because they have same-sex parents.  From what I know right now, I feel that I have been lucky to be raised by two loving dads, than by some children who are raised in troubled heterosexual homes.

Gay parents “tend to be more motivated, more committed than heterosexual parents on average, because they chose to be parents,” said Abbie Goldberg, a psychologist at Clark University in Massachusetts who researches gay and lesbian parenting. Gays and lesbians rarely become parents by accident, compared with an almost 50 percent accidental pregnancy rate among heterosexuals, Goldberg said. “That translates to greater commitment on average and more involvement.”

People may view children of same- sex parents to be better off but this is because these parents tend to be more involved in the child’s life.  As stated above, same-sex couples want to have kids and they will do anything to achieve this.  Once the opportunity is handed to them,  they put all of themselves into raising the child.  I know from experience  that my parents are continuously doing things to make sure that I have an above average life.  My dad will travel any distance to watch me perform, and he supports my sister and I financially.  This is however,is in contrast to my mother, that rarely attends my competitions and hasn’t always been there financially for us.  Having two dads has been a blessing, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

 

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

