by Danielle Gillette
During the semester I’ll be experimenting with part-time vegetarianism and posting about recipes that I try as well as vegetarian- and vegan-friendly restaurants in Boston.
A 2008 study done by The Vegetarian Times revealed that 7.3 million adults in the United States follow a vegetarian diet, and of that number, 1 million are vegans (source). As a member of the carnivorous majority in the U.S., I had a few questions.
If all vegans are vegetarians, but not all vegetarians are vegans, what makes the difference? And is there a secret rivalry going on, or do they team up against meat-eating evildoers?
As it turns out, the difference is important, but simple to describe:
Vegetarian is a blanket term used to describe a person who does not consume meat, poultry, fish, or seafood. Vegan is the strictest sub-category of vegetarians. Vegans do not consume any animal products or by-products.
There are other subcategories of vegetarianism which the article explains, but for simplicity’s sake my focus will be on this general definition.