Painting the perfect picture

by Darlene Charles

Why is it that females always have a bucket list of who their perfect guy is? I want someone who’s over 6 feet tall, makes over $100,000 a year, weighs 195lbs… the list goes on.

Face it: You can’t build your ideal man. But yet, females think the man they are in a relationship with is not the perfect guy. Just know that your ideal man is not realistic. Beggars can’t be choosers.

Some people are painting that picture to the T, building him up like he’s a robot. You can’t create a man that you are in full control of. You can’t design your ideal man to produce the personal and physical qualities that you are looking for.

Mabelle Sese says it best. She states,

‘When I was a teenager, I had this stringent list of what my ideal man should be: handsome, well-off, caring, understanding, God-fearing, intelligent – ‘ I could have gone on and on then about what qualities my partner should have. However, as I grew older, I realized that I could never really find a real person who met all these sterling qualities.

http://allwomenstalk.com/my-idea-of-my-ideal-man/

I mean, it’s good for a woman to know what she wants in a man., but when that list gets to hefty, all those things are superficial and not based on love.

What we really should be looking for is a friendship, the true qualities in a person., their likes and dislikes…those kinds of things. How tall a person is should not matter.

The point is females want so much but the reality is they need to expect the unexpected and accept what is placed in front of them.

2 thoughts on “Painting the perfect picture

  1. While I agree that we can’t go around making superficial checklists for a prospective boyfriend, I do not believe with your statement of “beggars can’t be choosers”. Why can’t we be choosers? Are you suggesting we just settle? Accept what is placed before us? No way. Going down this road many of times before, I believe that you cannot settle for a compromise. Maybe he’s super romantic, but he’s not committed. Maybe he’s committed, but he treats you just like any other old friend. Let me tell you, you should be picky. You deserve to be.

    We SHOULD make a checklist. Make a list of things that make you happy, not superficial things.
    “Must like cooking or trying new foods, must accept me for my Harry Potter obsession, must like family”. Things that are important to you, should be important to him too.

    Of course you don’t have to interrogate him right off the bat, but girl…do not think that you deserve just any guy who put in front of you.

    • dccharles123 says:

      A superficial list is not meaningful and it’s just a checklist. If those are just he qualities you are looking for, the relationship can not build on love. There is nothing wrong with having qualities you are looking for in a male. I agree that what is important to you, should be important to him. But my argument is that although women have checklists, which is fine, but painting it to the T where there is no room to build a foundation on love, friendship, loyalty, and trust, is not important.

Leave a Reply

