The 10th Annual Independent Film Festival in Boston is almost here!

By Brittany Carragher

The 10th Annual Independent Film Festival in Boston is almost here!

The festival is from April 25 – May 2, 2012. Visit the official event website for details. There are volunteer and donation opportunities available.

I am so excited to be investigating and writing about Boston’s independent film industry. I expect to see some great films and meet some interesting people.

There will be a special fundraising event for the Independent Film Festival Boston on Monday, February 27th at 7: 30 pm Coolidge Corner Theatre 290 Harvard St, Brookline.

Stephen Tobolowsky and host David Chen will be presenting stories from The Tobolowsky Files. General admission tickets are $20.00 and $17.00 for Coolidge members.

The Coolidge Corner Theatre describes the event as:

“Tobolowsky brings wit and insight, not to mention his actor’s eye for drama, to stories from all periods of his own life. If you are a fan of The Moth or This American Life, we highly recommend this event – it’s certain to be a memorable evening of stories and conversation with a one-of-a-kind performer.”

My plan is to be a volunteer for the event, hopefully meet some important industry people. I also want to check out local independent theaters like the Coolidge Corner Theater and the Kendall Square Cinema.

As long as I can remember I have had this interest in independent films. I was probably nine or ten when I saw my first indie film. Since then, I have developed such an appreciation for good movies, but more specifically, indie films. I love the raw quality that these films offer. I like the dark places and realness many of these movies portray. Keep following as I begin to investigate Boston’s own Indie Industry.

Above photo published by Peter Keough.

Leave a Reply

