Vegan for a Day

By Danielle Gillette

Trying veganism for a day was easier than I thought it was going to be, especially considering my lifelong love affair with dairy products. For my all-vegan day, I had toast with an olive-oil based butter substitute, vegetable stir fry, and pasta with pesto sauce. I also gave some vegan cookies (courtesy of Emmanuel’s vegan station in the cafeteria) a try, and they were surprisingly good!

As I wrote about last time, I did look into some milk substitutes, and my favorite is by far chocolate soy milk. Sure, it’s not something I could use in my cereal, but it tastes delicious. I honestly couldn’t tell the difference between it and dairy chocolate milk.

If you’re interested in trying some vegan meals, there are tons of recipe sites online. If you’re in the Boston area, there are several restaurants that cater exclusively to vegetarian and vegan customers. I’ll be checking a few places out in person, but for now, here’s a (very) short list:

Peace o’ Pie Gourmet Vegan Pizza, 487 Cambridge Street, Allston.

Veggie Galaxy Diner and Vegan Bakery, 450 Mass. Ave, Cambridge.

Clover Food Trucks; the closest one to Emmanuel is right next to campus on Blackfan Street.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

