By Meghan Tschaikowsky
If you had your doubts about the Virgin Mary actually being a virgin, well now Arizona Legislation can clear matters up for you.
For most states, abortion is prohibited past the point where the fetus could survive outside the womb on its own. This, according to medical professionals, is 22-24 weeks after conception. However, Arizona is now giving its women 20 weeks (in some cases 18 weeks) to decide or even get the chance to get an abortion. Why? Because AZ government considers gestation to commence on the date of the last menstruation, not on the date of actual conception.What does this mean for women? Even if you’re on birth control, refraining from sex, or even a virgin, you will be considered pregnant the day after your period ends.
And Arizona Legislators aren’t making the abortion process any easier for women either. Check out these authorized demands:
The real kicker to this whole oppressive matter? A woman, Governor Jan Brewer, signed the new bill into law.
“What’s problematic about this bill is that the AZ government is using this to legally define a woman as pregnant even before the date of conception to specifically restrict access to abortion – and that sets a dangerous precedent for an increased governmental involvement in women’s reproductive systems. That a piece of legislation – and not a doctor – can declare when life starts and when an abortion can or can’t be calculated is ridiculous, and little too Handmaid’s Tale for it to be OK.”
Not only is the government restraining reproductive rights, they’re actually invalidating proven scientific facts.